Our Achievements

Prize giving 2017

2nd Oct 2017

On Monday 2nd October 2017, Linlithgow Kayak Racing held their end of season gathering and prize giving at the 10 pin bowling in Livingston.

2017 has been another tremendous season for LKR paddlers with the season nearly over we have had representatives at every sprint and most marathon competition in Scotland this year.

Our Lightning paddlers, who were competing at the 4 GB Regattas in Nottingham, did very well.   3  Scottish clubs were in the top 5 out of all UK clubs, with LKR finishing top in the UK and winning the cup – a great result!

For trophies awarded by the club:

  • LKR Lightning Trophy 2017 was presented to Kristina Armstrong

The LKR lightning trophy is presented annually to the Lightning paddler who has, during the season, made the most progress.   Kristina has competed in sprints & marathons representing LKR throughout the season, consistently achieving 1st place rankings at Scottish events.  At Nottingham, Kristina picked up the individual GOLD medal for the series of GB Regattas – a fantastic achievement!

  • LKR Most Improved Paddler Shield 2017 was presented to Finn Cadell

The LKR most improved paddler shield is presented to the paddler who, in the opinion of the coaches, has made the most progress over the last 12 months. This trophy also had several contenders with several club members representing GB at completions in Europe and the judging was very close on this one.  Finn has demonstrated great determination and focus, having had to train on his own at times and has not (up till now) been in the highest supported SCA squad.  Along with his K2 partner he paddled for GB and came 12th at the World Championships – Well done Finn!